Okonomiyaki

I’ve had half a cabbage from my veggie box sitting in the fridge for the last week, waiting for me to figure out what to do with it.  It’s not a vegetable I cook with a lot, and it wasn’t I was reading about Cindy & Michael’s Japanese adventures that inspiration struck.  But it was worth the wait, the answer was perfect: Okonomiyaki!

Okonomiyaki is usually described as Japanese pancake or Japanese pizza, but I think it bears a closer resemblance to bubble and squeak.  And I love bubble and squeak.

I googled some recipes to get a basic idea, and then proceeded on my merry way.  I was a bit worried once I’d made the mix – it turned out pretty light on the batter and looked like it wouldn’t hold together:

I pressed on, certain that even if it didn’t turn out pretty, it would still be a tasty mess of bubble and squeak.  But in the end it came out kinda pretty.  At least, it wasn’t a mess:

Delicious!

Okonomiyaki

1 1/2 cups plain flour
1 egg
enough water to make a runny batter
half a cabbage, finely shredded
lots of veggies, finely shredded (I used carrot, zucchini and onion)

To serve:
Okonomiyaki Sauce (I used Vegetarian Oyster Sauce)
Japanese Mayonnaise

Measure the flower into a large bowl.  Make a well in the centre and crack in the egg.  Mix with a fork to combine.  Start adding water a little at a time until you have a smooth, runny batter.

Mix in the veggies, ensuring they’re well coated.

Heat a little oil in a large, non-stick fry pan over medium heat.  Add about half a cup of the mixture (depending on the size of your pan).  Press together and neaten the edges with spoons.  Cook for 5-10 minutes per side, flipping once it’s cooked enough to hold together.

To serve, drizzle with sauce and Japanese mayo, and eat piping hot!

I made up a big bunch and put them in the freezer for quick meals – they do very well in the sandwich maker for a few minutes.

4 responses to “Okonomiyaki

  1. I love okonomiyaki! Unfortunately it was near-impossible to get it without seafood in Japan, and at home I have not yet made one that I’ve been able to flip over in one piece. :-P

    Yours looks terrific! And reheating them in a sandwich maker is a very clever idea.

  2. If you can find it, Bulldog tonkatsu sauce is vegan and it makes an ideal okonomiyaki topping. I like to put some nori on top as well. Yum!

  3. Thanks for the tip, Lisa. I’m planning a trip to Minh Phat sometime soon, so hopefully they’ll have it!

    Cindy – There seems to be a lot of surprise!seafood in Japanese food in Australia, which is annoying not only because I’m vego, but because I’ve never really liked the flavour of seafood anyway.

  4. Pingback: Veggie Box « Gretel was getting fatter.

Leave a Reply

