Minestrone

Oh hello winter!  I am so glad you’re here at last.  Winter, with your snugness and layers and capes.  Winter with your warm, comforting food, your long cooking times, your semi-hibernation.  Winter with your delicious minestrone soup, oh yes, I am happy to see you.

I know not everyone is as pleased to see winter as I am, but regardless of your feelings on the weather, this is one of the tastiest soups I’ve ever made.  I’m not sure what made it so different, but it was good.  Really good.  I was surprised by how good it was.  Maybe it was the organic veggies (I’m convinced they really are tastier). I was basically looking for a way to use up my veggie box veggies, and I’m so glad I went with soup.  Make it in big batches and freeze the leftovers (if they last long enough).

So Glad It’s Winter Minestrone

olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
2 stalks of celery, finely chopped
1 carrot, peeled and chopped
3 bay leaves
a small sprinkle of dried herbs like thyme, tarragon, oregano, etc
2 tins beans (I like white beans but use your favourite)
2 tins tomatoes, chopped
2-ish cups of water or stock
lots of veggies, chopped (I used potatoes, zucchini, cauliflower, broccoli, and sweet potato)
Salt & pepper

Optional, to serve:
Sour cream
Grated parmesan
Extra olive oil

Sauté the onion, celery and carrot in a little olive oil until they begin to soften and the onion becomes translucent.  Add the bay leaves and herbs and stir for a few minutes until fragrant.

Add the beans and the tomatoes.  Start adding the veggies, beginning with those that required longest cooking time first.  Add the next vegetable as the previous one starts to soften.

Once all veggies are added an cooked (don’t overcook!), season with salt and pepper.

To serve, ladle into big bowls, drizzle with a little olive oil, and top with sour cream and grated parmesan (optional, and vegan if you leave these out or substitute them).  Best served with a nice thick slab of sourdough and eaten beside the heater.

Leave a Reply

