Tempeh San Choy Bow

I love this weather.  I find the first snap of cold refreshing, invigorating, energising.  I walk faster, I talk faster, I’m more awake and alert.  I find myself more engaged in my life, and particularly in cooking.  I’m not particularly interested in salads in this weather, though, so I set to thinking up another use for the iceberg lettuce that’s been sitting in my crisper.  I thought about the lettuce soup my (stereotypically arrogant and terrifying French) boss used to make at the cafe I worked in when I was 17 (my first job).  It was a lovely soup, but I can’t quite bring myself to cook iceberg – I love the crunch of it, the freshness.  So I goggled for recipes, and eventually I settled on San Choy Bow.  I love San Choy Bow!  And I almost never see veg versions anywhere, so I figured I’d make it for myself!

This is a totally un-authentic recipe that I made up as I went, but goodness it was tasty!  (Sorry about the terrible picture – I was impatient to eat!)

Tempeh San Choy Bow

Peanut Oil
1 pkt tempeh, minced super fine
1 onion, minced super fine
1 clove garlic, minced
1-2 chillies, minced or 1-2 tsp chilli paste
good splash soy sauce
good splash veg oyster sauce
good splash rice vinegar
1 carrot, minced
1 stick celery, minced
1 spring onion, finely sliced
4 iceberg lettuce leaves

Heat the peanut oil in a pan over medium-high heat.  Add the minced tempeh and fry, stirring occasionally, until it starts to brown.  Add the onions and garlic and cook until the onion starts to soften.

Stir in the chilli, soy sauce and oyster sauce, ensuring all the tempeh is coated.  Add the carrot, celery, and spring onion and fry for few minutes, until the mixture is quite dry.

Spoon mixture into the lettuce leaves, fold up to eat, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

