Pickled Ginger Red Cabbage

I am, in general, a bit of a pickle fan.  But I’m also a bit picky about my pickles – I don’t like the flavour to be too harsh, and I think the pickling or the pickle should add something that the fresh vegetable doesn’t offer.  This pickle certainly does that – what if offers is a fantastically intense ginger flavour and a gorgeous gem red colour.

I originally got this recipe from a cooking class back when I worked at the Belconnen Markets in Canberra – but I can’t remember whose class it was, and the recipes sheets don’t have any names on them, so I’m afraid it will have to go uncredited for now.

This photo does no justice to the colour.

Pickled Ginger Red Cabbage

1/2 red cabbage
3 teaspoons sald
1 cup rice vinegar
1 cup caster sugar
2 tablespoons very finely chopped or shredded ginger (I used about twice this, since I was basically going for cabbage that tasted like pickled ginger)
1/2 – 1 small red chilli, thinly sliced

Shred the cabbage as thinly as you possibly can.  Toss with the salt and place in a large colander sitting in a bowl.  Cover with a plate and then weight the plate with something heavy (tins will do).  Leave to drain at room temperature for around 3 hours.

In a large bowl, whisk together the vinegar, sugar, ginger and chilli until the sugar dissolves.  Add the cabbage and toss well to combine.  Transfer to an airtight container and chill, stirring occasionally, for at least 8 hours.

Keeps for several weeks in the fridge.

One response to “Pickled Ginger Red Cabbage

  1. Oh yum! Looks so good! I was just thinking to myself last night (as I was reading my one and only macrobiotic book) that I really really wanted to make some pickles, I’m pretty good at the pickled ginger now, but this looks fab! Am going to try it!

Leave a Reply

